Tags

, , , , , , ,


Dog Walking in Spokane

Loose leash walking is an imperative skill for each and every dog to learn.  As a former dog walker and pet sitter, I have a special appreciation for dogs who can walk on a leash without trying to drag me down the road.

When I would get a regular pet sitting or dog walking client, I would use my training skills to teach the dog to walk nicely on a leash.  It made life easier, the pet’s parents lives easier, and possibly most importantly, the life of the pet easier.  I considered it an added benefit for my customer that I could teach their dog basic manners while I exercised them five days a week.  It was fun for me too.  I love it so much, just me and the dog, learning to be partners.  It was much better than being dragged down the street by an excitable great dane.

My instructions for teaching your dog to walk on a loose leash can be found here.

Walking on a loose leash is a skill that doesn’t have a skill you have to learn before it, however I found it very helpful if your dog knows how to look on command.  Those instructions can be found here.  This is useful because if your dog is paying attention to you they are more likely to ignore all those fun, smelly or fast moving things that tend to gain their attention.  Look cuts down the amount of training time you will spend teaching your dog to walk nicely on a leash.

If you are beginning to train your dog now you need to know what to expect with training. You may also want to know how to make a dog training plan.  If you are more experienced it is possible you will only need instruction on loose leash walking.

It is possible that you will need to hire a professional dog trainer.  To help you with this process, I have given you instructions on how to choose a good dog trainer here.

I hope this begins to answer your questions.  Please keep in mind that it is not necessary, nor do I recommend their use.  In especially difficult to walk dogs I recommend the Halti or the Gentle Leader.  I prefer the gentle leader, but I recommend you have the dog trainer on staff fit it for you the first time.  If not, you could end up with it working You can find them at your local pet store like PetSmart or PetCo.  Those are the stores in my area.  I don’t know which stores will be local for you.  If you have any questions, just post a comment and I will do my best to help you.

