Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


my dog's photo

Image via Wikipedia

Now you hopefully find that you have a general idea how you want your dog to fit into your home.  Keep refining that list.

As you already know, dogs cost money.  What you may not know is how much money.  This is something that will vary based on a number of things.  For instance, the initial cost of purchasing a dog or puppy can vary from $0-over $1000.  If you go with the lowest cost choices in dog food it will cost less than premium food options.  Also, smaller dogs eat less than bigger dogs.  So the cost will be less.  We will cover this with more detail as we move forward.

I was going to go into each expense and break down what the low, mid, and high ranges would be, however I found a site that has already done that and they do a really good job at it.  Since I’m not going to reinvent the wheel and money is not my best subject I’m going to refer you to visit Dr Foster and Smith’s post.

They have a good pet education section.  This was definitely the best money article I could find.  I would only add two things.

  • Pet Insurance – I use Banfield in my area.  They are in Petsmart and have the best hours.  I pay a monthly fee and get free office visits, vaccines and some other care included.  I also pay a reduced fee for any medications my dog might need.  Even if you just do this your first year with your puppy, you could save a considerable amount of money.
  • Dog Walkers – Dog walkers are extremely useful with energetic dogs and puppies who physically can’t hold their bladder the entire time you are at work.  Pricing and experience varies so call a few or do an internet search for dog walker and your city name in your favorite search engine.  I would count on a minimum of $15 dollars per visit.  That is the very low-end for the service in the greater Detroit area.  Your area may be very different.
