Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I think I left a few things out of my socialization tips.  I want to make sure you have all the tips you can for your new puppy so here are the ones I left out.  I tried not to include anything that was already mentioned.  Sorry I didn’t get this to you with the first set of posts.  I hope you find it helpful.

Your dog should be comfortable in the home:

  • Hearing and seeing a washer and dryer when running
  • hearing and seeing a dishwasher when running
  • hearing and seeing a vacuum cleaner when running
  • hearing the telephone ring
  • hearing and seeing the TV
  • Hearing the stove alarm and alarm clock
  • Hearing people talk
  • Hearing People sing
  • Hearing a doorbell
  • Watching people come and go from the house
  • Walking up and down stairs

Outdoors your dog should be comfortable:

  • Going to a farmers market
  • In a parking garage going up and down the elevator
  • In a Park
  • In a Different Yard
  • Hearing horns from a car, bike or party favor

Your dog should also be comfortable on multiple surfaces:

  • Patio
  • Tile
  • Wood Chips
  • Dirt
  • Carpet
  • Astro Turf
  • Grass
  • Bridges
  • Metal Grating
  • Linoleum
  • Ise
  • Snow Gravel
  • Concrete
  • Asphalt
