Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


My Service DogMy service dog is having some issues of his own.  Just so you know you aren’t the only ones out there.

Meet Copper.  He helps me in many ways.  He alerts me to oncoming medical problems, he helps me occasionally with mobility, and he helps me by providing emotional support when I am having my own issues. He is a rescue baby.  I got him when he was a pup.  I trained him myself, with help from lots and lots of books and quite a few people.  All of whom have my gratitude.

However, Copper is having issues because he is beginning to act like he is the top dog in the house.  He isn’t.  So, we are retraining him starting from the beginning.  It doesn’t take as long to retrain him as it would if we were starting from scratch, it’s just a refresher course.

In case I haven’t told you yet, I’m agoraphobic.  I haven’t been taking him out in public as much as I used to.  It’s gotten more difficult for me.  I feel safer with my husband with me, I feel safest with Copper and my husband there.  But if I’m going out, I want Copper.  So, after his training refresher course, he’ll have a service dog refresher course as well.

I’ll admit, it’s frustrating when your dog forgets, or pretends to forget his training.  I’m not sure which one it is, really.  I have two doctor appointments at the end of the week and I want him to go with me.  Really, I need him to go with me, so we’re going to be working darn hard the next couple of days.

If you have a stubborn dog, don’t feel lonely.  It happens to all of us, even trainers.  I could have avoided this by doing short refresher sessions every day, or even once a week.  I’m just like everyone else….  live and learn.  I’ve learned my lesson on this one.

